CORONAVIRUS - the league is temporarily suspended

News from around the League - 2010/11

4th May

Congratulations to Preston who have gained promotion to Mixed Division One following victory in the play-off match against Charmouth 1. The scoresheet can be found here

16th Apr

Westfield Gryphon have won the Knockout Cup beating Bishops Caundle in the final.
The Plate competition was an all-Wessex Wanderers affair with the 2nd team beating the 1st team.

9th Apr

All Division Champions are now decided, with Yeovil Graduates 1 taking top spot in the FourTwo League ahead of Yeovil Graduates 2.

The Divisional Tournaments have been won by Barry Harris & Jo Boucher and Chris Ireland & Helen Taylor respectively.

26th Mar

Congratulations to Yeovil Graduates who have finished as Division One Champions in the Mixed League.

21st Mar

Congratulations to Crewkerne Hermitage who have finished as Division Two Champions in the Mixed League despite losing their final match against Bishops Caundle.

18th Jan

The Partner Swap Tournament has been won by Francis Chudley (Crewkerne Hermitage) and Jo Padwick (Westfield Gryphons).

16th Jan

Budmouth have announced that they are withdrawing from the FourTwo League with immediate effect. They have struggled since the start of the season to field a team and sadly have come to the conclusion that this situation is not going to improve.
The League table has been adjusted according to Rule B1(e).

13th Jan

The Veternas Tournament postponed from October 16th has provisionally been re-arranged for February 19th at Westland Sports Centre.

The Junior Tournament on March 27th will be held at Thomas Hardye School (new sports hall).

14th Jul (EGM and AGM)

At the EGM it was agreed:

  1. To modify Rule B1(b) to permit divisions of only 5 teams.
  2. To agree the re-organisation of the Mixed League for the forthcoming season with extra promotions to make 2 divisions of nominally 8 teams.
  3. To introduce the concept of "rubber-points" and to modify Rule B4(c) to limit the number of rubber-points awarded for a win to 5 irrespective of the match score. League positions will then be based on rubber-points in the first instance.

Following the EGM, an opportunity was given for new teams to enter the League.

Three new clubs then applied for membership.
Weymouth Network will be based at Redlands in Weymouth.
Preston (part of the Shuttlebusters Club) will be based at Preston School in Yeovil.
Westfield Gryphons will be playing at the Gryphon School in Sherborne.
Sadly Westland withdrew their teams from all Leagues.

At the subsequent AGM it was agreed:

  1. To modify Rule B3(b) to automatically register players for the club’s lowest ranked team in the League rather than the team he/she first plays for.


2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005